I’m Back!!

im-baaaaaack

I’m Baaaaaaaaack!! LOL

So, in case you missed the post to my Facebook page yesterday, I was FINALLY able to get back into my clay studio after TWO YEARS away! I spent some time going through supplies and materials I had ordered recently and then I just grabbed some clay and started playing. I wasn’t sure how much time I’d have, so I didn’t plan to do anything very elaborate or time consuming. I was thrilled to be back in my studio and I’m going to make it a priority in the future. Y’all have NO IDEA how much I’ve missed working in my studio!

Most days it’s just my son and I at home together so the only time I can work in my studio is while he’s napping. However the past few weeks we’ve taken turns being sick and so of course he wasn’t sleeping very well at night or at nap time so we’ve both been exhausted and grumpy. Things are better now and he’s back to napping like he should, so I’m taking advantage of it! There’s going to come a day (too soon!) when my son won’t want/need to nap anymore (he turned 2 this past November). When that happens I don’t know how I’ll find time to work in my studio unless my mom is home and can watch him for me. I don’t want him playing in my studio because of my oven and other things that could prove dangerous to him.

I’m challenging myself this year to be more creative so I’ve joined the 2017 Polymer Clay Challenge on Facebook! The goal is to create one new piece every week for the year. There’s a page here: http://katersacres.com/polyclay/pcchallenge/2017pcchallenge/ that gives you lots of info about the challenge as well as a link to the Facebook group for this year’s challenge! Technically, I have 3 items in progress in my studio, so if I finish them all this week I’ll be ahead a bit, but that’s awesome for me because there may be days that I don’t feel well or need to do other things, like adulting, and won’t have time to get into my studio.

Week one (this week), I played around with watercolor paints (the pink) and pressed some clay into the filigree crosses just to see how it would look. I also played around with some Mokume Gane, but I still need to figure out what I’m going to do with it.

photos

The 2 on the left are what I did yesterday and they’re raw. The one in the middle is what I did today and it’s raw too. I need to figure out what to do with them. The one on the right is what I did with what I made yesterday and they’re baked.

I know it’s been a while since I’ve written a blog post, but with this challenge I’ll have a post for a week all year long (maybe) hopefully! Here’s a sneak peek at what I’ve been working on this week. Now, if you’ll excuse me, my studio is calling my name! If you’d be interested in taking a photo tour of my studio at some point make sure to leave a comment for me down below and I’ll work on making that happen! My studio is a mess, but what sort of creative would I be if things stayed neat and organized all the time!? I hope you’ve all enjoyed your holidays! Despite sickness going around here, we did!

22 comments

  1. Nicole · January 6

    I would love to see a photo tour of your studio! 🙂 Those filigree crosses are beautiful!

    Like

    • Carmen Nichole · January 6

      Thank you Nicole! My studio is nothing special, but I figured my readers might like to get a glimpse of where I work, tho I think it needs some sprucing up to be honest! Maybe I can get around to doing that one of these days! Have you taken a look at my online shop? If you haven’t, you totally should! I have a 15% off sale going on now until whenever I decide to pull the plug, lol. The code for it is HOLIDAYSHOP and the link for my store is: http://wiredheart.storenvy.com/. Thanks very much for stopping by!!

      Like

  2. That’s awesome – the designs are absolutely beautiful!

    Like

  3. hopefulspoonie · January 9

    Thank you for sharing. Lovely post.

    Like

  4. Heather Hart · January 9

    Oh my, you are talented. Beautiful.

    Like

  5. Modeline · January 9

    This is so great!! You’re so creative and fun! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Grace · January 10

    That looks sooo fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. kalinann · January 10

    Yay! Welcome back to things!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Good for you for being able to get back into your love! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Terri's Thoughts · January 10

    I would love to work with clay. Gorgeous work that can be done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carmen Nichole · January 10

      You should totally try it! You don’t need a lot of stuff to get started!

      Like

  10. mariewikle · January 10

    Love stuff like this! We just got our daughter a pottery wheel. I hope she is inspired to do more with it! Welcome Back! Can’t wait to see all that you create!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carmen Nichole · January 10

      I tried a pottery wheel in high school and it was fun, I hope she enjoys it and uses it. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  11. amandasettle · January 10

    those crosses are beautiful, whenever I see something creative I want to have a go at it, but with a craft room full of stuff I have a feeling my husband might draw the line at a clay oven!

    Like

    • Carmen Nichole · January 10

      Crafts are addicting, but I fell in love with making jewelry and especially polymer clay because you can do so much with it! I don’t have a very big space so the clay takes over, lol.

      Like

  12. Kristi · January 10

    How exciting to be back doing something you love and enjoy…and something God has obviously given you a talent for!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. deannalexis · January 11

    This looks fun! I love to see other people’s workspaces.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Amy Christensen · January 11

    Very cool. Thanks for sharing your beautiful talent with us! Looking forward to more. – Amy
    http://stylingrannymama.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

