Polymer Clay Challenge 2017 Weeks 1 & 2

polymer-clay-challenge-2017-weeks-1-2

I’m late with this week’s blog post, blame life, lol. It won’t be all that long, but I wanted to post a quick update so you can keep up to date with my 2017 Polymer Clay Challenge weekly progress. Granted, not everything I’ll be posting is made the week I post them, but I’m still going to post a new project each week. And at some point I’ll start photographing some of them and listing them in my StorEnvy shop. Make sure to check out what I have listed.

Week one’s project was the purple filigree cross earrings. I posted them on my Facebook page, but didn’t write a blog post dedicated to them. Oh well. They’re nothing fancy, but I wanted to start small so I didn’t overwhelm myself. There are SO MANY tutorials and techniques that I’ve picked up/discovered recently and I can’t make up my mind what I want to work on when I get into my studio! LOL Because I usually only get about 2 hours at most in my studio I really need to be focused on what I’m doing.

0107171621_hdr2

So, week two’s project were some pendants I made. I took some pearl clay that I had treated with water color paint and put it into a few round bezels then baked them. I initially made three, but my niece and her husband came to visit the other night for dinner and I gave her one before I’d taken a picture for this post. So, I only have two to show you, but they look pretty similar, so it’s ok, right?

I’m not sure if I’m going to leave them on the black cords or put them on a chain. Either way, when they get posted in my shop you’ll have the option to have a chain or a cord. I like to give people options. I hope you enjoy seeing my posts each week and seeing what I’m getting up to in my studio. I’m hoping to get in some more studio time today because yesterday I started a few new pieces and I need to check on them and see what I can do with them.

As always, I love feedback and comments! Thanks for visiting!

8 comments

  1. blinkingcat · January 16

    I love those earrings. Did you make the metal frame too?

    Like

  2. Carmen Nichole · January 16

    No, they’re filagree I picked up. I have some other pieces of filagree too.

    Like

  3. Nicole · January 21

    I love the colors you choose! So pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carmen Nichole · January 21

      Thanks! I love trying different color combos and seeing what works. That’s part of what I love about polymer clay. So many possibilities!

      Like

  4. Elizabeth Koetsier · January 23

    Beautiful earrings, nice work! I would love to see more!

    Like

  5. katersacres · February 2

    Welcome to the Challenge! You’re off to a great start! I can’t wait to see what the future will bring for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

