Polymer Clay Challenge Week 3

polymer-clay-challenege-2017week-3

So, here it is, week 3 of the Polymer Clay Challenge 2017. This time I’m sharing a necklace made with beads and a pendant I had made quite some time ago. Usually, when I make beads and things I try to make something with them as soon as I can so they’re not sitting around going to waste. Well, the beads and pendant I made eluded me, I couldn’t figure out what I wanted to do with them, until now.

There I was, trying to sleep, but couldn’t. It was about 1 am one night this past week and I was lying in bed wide awake for God knows what reason. I decided since I wasn’t able to sleep I’d have a look at some of my jewelry supplies and some of the random polymer clay bits I’d been working on. If you head over to my Facebook page, you’ll see 3 necklaces total, but this is the one I’m using for this week’s challenge.

0120171453_hdr

I can’t say for sure how long these beads have been hanging around, but I know I had fun making them. I had seen this really simple process for making the beads so I figured I’d give it a shot. It’s a simple as forming the beads (or whatever else you want to make, like a pendant) and embedding salt into the clay before baking. The kind I used was Grey Celtic salt because it was chunky and I wanted that look.

So, after putting the salt onto the clay and of course putting holes in the beads I baked them. When they came out of the oven I dunked them in ice water and not only did that cool them off, but the salt dissolved and that left the beads with those nice divots you see. After drying them off I painted some black acrylic paint over the surface of the bead and wiped off most of it, but left the paint in the divots. I think it’s a lava rock sort of look. Very easy technique to do and I didn’t feel the need to seal it either.

*BONUS ALERT*

Starting tomorrow I’m going to have a giveaway on my Facebook page running until Valentine’s Day. I’ll draw the name of one lucky winner that morning and they will receive a wonderful piece of jewelry created by yours truly. I don’t know which peace yet, but when I decide I’ll post that to my Facebook page. In order to enter just visit my page and find the Giveaway tab where you can enter to win. And please, share, share, share! So all of your friends can have a chance to enter too!!

Leave a Reply

